Saskatchewan winners of Aboriginal Peoples' Choice Music Awards

Published: Nov 9, 2011

At award ceremonies held on November 3 at Fort Garry Place and November 4 at the MTS Centre in Winnipeg, the 2011 APCMAs recognized outstanding musical talent. The November 4 gala awards were also broadcast live on the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network.

SaskMusic is pleased to congratulate the following award winners hailing from Saskatchewan:

Aboriginal Female Entertainer of the Year – Yvonne St. Germaine
Best Hand Drum CD – Big River Cree (“Stand By Me”)
Best Flute CD – Jacob Pratt (“Eagle Call”)
Best Peyote CD - Kelly Daniels (“Blessing From A Hummingbird”)

The Aboriginal Peoples’ Choice Music Awards are part of the annual Manito Ahbee Festival, an annual event celebrating music, arts and culture in the heart of Turtle Island.

For more information, including a full list of nominees, please visit

- 30 -

About Yvonne St. Germain
“There are so many of our loved ones that are hurting inside. If through my music, a spoken word of encouragement or just taking the time to listen makes a difference in someone’s life, this journey is worth it all...that is the true reward!” Her latest album “Tennessee Sky” includes "Hand In Hand", which won the GMA 2010 Aboriginal Song of the Year; "Stay", #1 on the MBC Saskatchewan Charts; and “Tennessee Sky”, NCI National Aboriginal Music Countdown Top 40.

Yvonne has also won APCMAs in the category of “Best Gospel Album” four times, for “My Jesus I Love Thee” (2010), “Turning My Day Around” (2009), “The Hand Of Jesus” (2008) and “On My Way to Heaven” (2007).

About Big River Cree
Well known throughout Canada and the United States for their unique style of singing, Big River Cree are from the Big River First Nation in northern Saskatchewan. They formed in the early 1990s with extended members of the Whitefish family. Through their grandparents’ teachings and guidance in the use of the hand drum, they demonstrate proper protocol as they were taught. Their songs are composed by various members of the group. During the winter months, they travel to round dances and when summer arrives, the pow wow trail is their home.

Big River Cree also took home this award in 2010 for “Songs From The Healing Lodge” and were nominated in the category in 2008 for “Going Home”.

About Jacob Pratt
Jacob Pratt is a Dakota/Saulteaux and a registered member of the Cote First Nations, currently attending the First Nations University of Canada for a degree in business. At the age of 14 years old Jacob started playing the traditional Native American Flute. After over a decade of practice, he is now sharing his talents with the world and has released his first CD. One of Jacob’s passions is working with First Nations/Native American youth, and speaking on topics of cultural preservation, youth empowerment, language revitalization, and education just to name a few. He also does workshops, teaches pow wow dance classes and even modeling workshops.

This was Jacob’s first APCMA nomination/win.

Kelly Daniels

Kelly is from the Sturgeon Lake First Nation, is President for NAC of Canada, and resides on his mother’s reservation in Red Pheasant. He has studied at the University of Sask. for two years and is a descendent of Cree Chief Koskwapmat (The One Who Sees The Thunderbirds). He grew up in a traditional way from a traditional family; Cree is his first language and he also a hoop dancer and grass dancer, having traveled to different parts of the world to perform since youth. Kelly enjoys singing different songs (sundance, sweat lodge ceremonial songs, pow-wow) and at a very young age began singing and drumming. He is also the founder of Meewasin Oma and composed many of their songs. His solo CD, Blessings from a Hummingbird, was for his family in mourning; for mourners and those who have lost and are orphaned.

Meewasin Oma received the APCMA for Best Peyote Album (“Great Spirit Hear Our Prayers”) in 2009. Kelly has also performed at the 2010 Olympics in Vancouver.

101-202 Fourth Avenue North, Saskatoon, SK S7K 0K1
Phone: (306) 242-1206 | Fax: (306) 242-1955 | 1-800-567-2444