The Best of the Blades: Choosing all-star teams from each decade

Published: Mar 20, 2012

2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup committee invites fans to vote for their favourite Blades

Saskatoon, SK – From inaugural WHL scoring champ Gerry Pinder to two-time Norris nominee Mike Green, oodles of outstanding players have skated for the Saskatoon Blades since the team’s inception in 1963.

Now the host committee for the 2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup is inviting fans to choose their favourite Blade stars from the past five decades.

“With the Blades preparing for this year’s playoff run, our host committee started reminiscing about some of the great teams of the past and the players who led the way,” says Tim Gitzel, Cameco CEO and co-chair of the 2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup in Saskatoon. “We thought it would be fun to get some feedback from fans and compile all-stars from each decade in the lead-up to next year’s tournament at Credit Union Centre.

“It’s a chance to celebrate the team’s rich history as we look towards a very exciting future.”

The poll is now open at Voting for the Team of the Millennium (2000 to present) runs through April 14, followed by voting for Teams of the Decade from the 1960s, ’70s, ’80s and ’90s. The winners will be announced during the 2012-13 WHL season.

Everyone who casts a ballot will be entered to win game tickets to the 2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup.

There is one way into the action - 2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup packages are currently available to season ticket holders of the Saskatoon Blades. Become a Blades’ season ticket holder and keep your seat for the 2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup! 

Eight-game Memorial Cup packages start at $95 plus applicable taxes and fees. For more information on becoming a season ticket holder and to secure your seat contact, 975-8844 or visit


For more information, contact:

Cory Wolfe,                                                
Media Communications Director                   
2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup                    

Cheri Hamilton,
Event Manager
2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup

About 2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup
The MasterCard Memorial Cup is the Canadian Hockey League championship tournament and will feature the top team from the Western Hockey League, Ontario Hockey League and Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, as well as the host team, Saskatoon Blades. The championship will take place May 16-26, 2013 at Credit Union Centre. The 10-day event will include a community-wide celebration showcasing alumni events, concerts and the CHL Awards. The Saskatoon Blades last hosted the MasterCard Memorial Cup in 1989.

101-202 Fourth Avenue North, Saskatoon, SK S7K 0K1
Phone: (306) 242-1206 | Fax: (306) 242-1955 | 1-800-567-2444