Search




JUNOS FOR SASKATCHEWAN: The Sheepdogs Set A Record Picking Up Three Awards

Published: Apr 2, 2012

At the JUNO Awards in Ottawa this weekend, Saskatoon-based rockers The Sheepdogs received a record number of JUNOs - bringing home the most trophies that have ever gone to a single Saskatchewan artist in a single year. The group brought home Single Of The Year, New Group Of The Year, and Rock Album Of The Year. This comes on the heels of their winning Single Of The Year, Group Or Duo Of The Year, Live Artist/Group or Duo Of The Year, and Rock Artist/Group or Duo Of The Year at last week's Indie Awards and Best New Artist at the Canadian Radio Music Awards.

The Sheepdogs shot to fame last year after winning Rolling Stone magazine's "Choose the Cover" contest, garnering over a million fans along the way, and appearing on Jimmy Fallon and proceeding to tour with Kings of Leon. Their album "Learn & Burn" was certified Gold in 2011.

Previous Saskatchewan JUNO winners include Colin James, who brought home two awards (Male Vocalist Of The Year and Single Of The Year) in 1991 and has a total of five awards. Joni Mitchell won the first JUNO award for a Saskatchewan artist in 1976 for Female Vocalist Of The Year. 

SaskMusic also congratulates 2012 JUNO Nominees The Deep Dark Woods (Roots & Traditional Album Of The Year) and Donny Parenteau (Aboriginal Album Of The Year).

SaskMusic was on hand in Ottawa to assist with the 2013 JUNO Host Committee Saskatchewan activities. As part of their trip, SaskMusic produced the "It's Gonna Get Loud" celebration for the Host Committee, held at the Government Conference Centre on Saturday night, and featured Saskatchewan artists Donny Parenteau, The Deep Dark Woods, Jordan Cook, and Blake Berglund.

For a complete list of nominees, please visit www.junoawards.ca.

- 30 -


For more information, please contact Lorena Kelly, SaskMusic, 306-347-0676.
 
The Sheepdogs:  www.thesheepdogs.com
The Deep Dark Woods:  www.thedeepdarkwoods.com
Donny Parenteau:  www.donnyparenteau.com
Colin James:  www.colinjames.com
Joni Mitchell:  www.jonimitchell.com
Jordan Cook:  www.jordancook.com
Blake Berglund:  www.blakeberglund.com

About CARAS
The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) is a not-for-profit organization created to preserve and enhance the Canadian music industry and to contribute toward higher artistic and industry standards. The main focus of CARAS is the exploration and development of ongoing opportunities to showcase and promote Canadian artists and music through vehicles such as The JUNO Awards and other year-round initiatives. For more information on the 41st Annual JUNO Awards or The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences' (CARAS) website please visit www.junoawards.ca or www.carasonline.ca.

About SaskMusic
SaskMusic is a non-profit association that represents, promotes and develops the music industry of Saskatchewan. We offer programming including artist listings, career consults, workshops, marketing and export assistance, networking opportunities and much more. Our artists and music professionals hail from across the province, and work in pretty much every genre you can imagine. We are a source of information and resources for both the public, and the music industry. If you have questions, we can help. We are the voice of Saskatchewan music.

101-202 Fourth Avenue North, Saskatoon, SK S7K 0K1
Phone: (306) 242-1206 | Fax: (306) 242-1955 | 1-800-567-2444